At times we do not want people to know whether or not we’re online or offline on WhatsApp. It’s a useful feature whether it be because of ‘Stranger Danger’ or other reasons. Here’s how to do it on Android/iPhone.
iPhone
- Open WhatsApp
- Go to the settings menu
- Click account
- Click privacy
- You can change 3 settings
- Change last seen to nobody
- Change Live Location to none
- Change Read Receipts to off
- Change the status to only share with, and do not choose anyone.
Android
- Open WhatsApp
- Click the menu icon (3 vertical dots)
- Select Settings
- Choose the account option
- Choose the Privacy option
- Set your status to only share with, and do not choose anyone
- Change Last Seen to Nobody
- Change Read Receipts to off
- Change Live Location to none
The same goes for WhatsApp’s Web version, hence why we will not be covering it. Sending messages through tapping the notification will not change your online status.
